Why do colleges expect you to keep paying after receiving their product?

Imagine if all companies had this expectation:

Hello, may I speak to Mr. Tyne please?  Hi, I’m Matthew and I’m in my third year of owning a Chevrolet.  I see you bought your Chevrolet ten years ago.  I hope you’ll have the chance to go to a car show this year and celebrate your car ownership!  Did you hear that the new Chevrolet is going to incorporate the Volt Powertrain technology?  How exciting is that?  Pretty exciting, I know!  Anyway, I’m calling because I’m trying to raise money for Chevrolet for several automobile programs that the cost of buying a car doesn’t cover, and I ‘m trying to help 1999 owners meet their giving goal.  Your year is trying to raise one million dollars and have 75% owner participation as a year goal.  I see that you haven’t given to Chevrolet since buying your car, and this should really be the year you decide to help out Chevrolet financially.  Even if you can’t afford to donate as much as you did when you bought your car, any donation would help you meet the 1999 Chevrolet owners’ goal.  Car and Driver magazine ranks Chevrolet with other American cars, and they believe that donating financially to your car company even after they no longer own their car is a reflection on how good our vehicals are.  You would be interested in donating towards our company?  Great.  Thank you.  Would you consider making that an annual contribution?  Chevrolet would really appreciate the support in helping us to sell cars to others.

This entry was posted in College and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Why do colleges expect you to keep paying after receiving their product?

  1. Stephanie says:

    My friends have declared that they’re not going to donate to the college until they’ve finally paid off their loans!

    I just go with a minimum donation every year…$10, and then they leave you alone. Plus then you can go to the fund raising events guilt free and eat the free food!

  2. Jason Tyne says:

    That sounds like extortion…

    “What’s the least I can pay you to stop harassing me?”

    “We will continue to subject you to this treatment until you pay us at least ten dollars.”

Leave a Reply

