My Opinion on Climate Change, Part Two: Who Can You Believe?

I’m a skeptic.  If you tell me something without irrefutable proof, I’ll doubt it.  The planet is really getting warmer?  Really?  Not that I’ve noticed…see this guy over here says the planet is actually getting cooler.  That sounds doubtful to me as well.  I guess one of them could be true, but is it worth betting on either side?  They sound pretty far fetched to me.

I mean, I’m not a scientist. I’ve never read any of the reports “validating” climate change or “refuting” climate change, and even if I had I probably wouldn’t understand it. Without any understandable evidence, how do I decide how to act?

Pascal suggests a wager when arguing the existence of God.  Even though it cannot be proved through reason, Pascal says that people should live as though God exists. A person living as though God exists he has everything to gain and nothing to lose. If he’s wrong, no harm done: he winks out of existence; if he’s right, he’s in like Flynn.  The man living as if there is no God puts you with nothing to gain and everything to lose.  If he’s right he’ll wink out of existence just like the pious man; but if he’s wrong he will find himself faced with a very angry God.

In the same way, it makes sense to act as if our planet was in crisis. Living this way gives us everything to gain and nothing to lose. If you preserve the earth and find that the crisis was true, you’ve just saved humanity; if you find that there was no crisis, you’ve still got the planet and it’s in better shape than when you started averting the crisis that never would have happened. If you live as if there is no crisis and find that the crisis never comes, no real harm done…except the cosmetic damage done to the earth.  On the other hand if you find that there is a crisis, you’ve just destroyed the hope of mankind’s survival.

Seriously.  If the fatalists are to be believed, what is possibly at stake is the survival of humanity; how much would be too much to do to possibly save the future of our species on this planet?

What harm could come from heeding the warnings?

What harm could come from ignoring the warnings?

I’m not a scientist, so I won’t tell you that there is a global crisis, but it seems to me it’s worth believing in…

This entry was posted in Politics and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Opinion on Climate Change, Part Two: Who Can You Believe?

  1. Wow, I did not know about that up to now. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

