Top Ten Songs of 2009 and My Picks for Best of the Decade

My Personal Top Ten Songs of 2009

10 “Anthem” by Leonard Cohen
9. “My Only Friend” by the Magnetic Fields
8. “Let’s hear that string part again, because I don’t think they heard it all the way out in Bushnell” by Sufjan Stevens
7. “Cotton Eyed Joe” by the Rednex
6. “The A-Team in New York City” by the Daniel Caine Orchestra
5. “Make You Feel My Love” by Bob Dylan
4. “Rainbow Connection” by the Muppets
3. “Police and Thieves” by The Clash
2. “Masterpiece Theater” by Zen Frisbee
…and the number one song of 2009 is…
1. “Never Saw it Coming” by The Nodd

If you’re unfamiliar with any of these or have been part of one of these memories, let me know and I’ll make you a mix!

…and…

MR. SPARK CHALLENGED FIVE SPARK STAFF MEMBERS TO NAME THE BEST ALBUM, BOOK, MOVIE, TELEVISION SHOW AND WEB SITE OF THE DECADE. HERE ARE THEIR ANSWERS…

Even though I’m not a Spark staff member, I gave him mine:

ALBUM: Living Like a Refugee, Sierra Leone’s Refugee All-Stars for bringing both the politics and music of Sierra Leone into the mainstream. Because of the album, the band has also been able to tour extensively to raise awareness for humanitarian causes.

BOOK: Blink, Malcolm Gladwell’s other book received more attention but I found Blink to be much more useful to an individual rather than The Tipping Point which seems to be useful to organizations and agencies.  I talk about Blink all the time when I’m teaching.

MOVIE: Bowling for Columbine, Michael Moore had to have one of his movies nominated in my opinion.  His movies are effective, if not entirely truthful or fact-based.  This isn’t my favorite Moore movie, but it has the clearest thesis and isn’t as tainted by his propaganda.

TELEVISION SHOW: The Daily Show, John Stewart took over and supplimented the existing staff with writers of The Onion*, who describe their approach to the show, saying, “The main thing, for me, is seeing hypocrisy. People who know better saying things that you know they don’t believe.”

WEB SITE: Pandora, although it lost points when it moved from a free service to a pay service, it’s still amazing enough to listen to.  Seed it with your favorite artists and songs and it crafts a personalized radio station exposing you to songs you love and songs you may never have heard of before.

Feel free to debate, disagree, or smack-talk my choices!

*which wins my vote for “Newspaper of the Decade” along with Utne which wins my vote for “Magazine of the Decade”.

This entry was posted in Blogs about Blogging, Music and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

