Shoveling the Driveway – An Object Lesson

The snow that fell right before the new year was a pretty dry snow; it was thick, heavy…the kind that’s hard to shovel.  If it’s wet the shovel scoops it up in thick clumps, because the snow sticks to itself.  This dry snow scatters and you can never really get it all up.  I was doing the best I could to get most of the snow up, but still a layer remained.  It lay there, just showing a little bit of blacktop to tempt me, but covering enough of it to taunt me.  I realize that there’s nothing to do but move on to the the rest of the driveway, perhaps at the end going back and cleaning up what I missed.  By the time I was considering this, I turned and realized that the sun was already doing my job for me.  Although I hadn’t gotten to the bottom of the matter, I had exposed enough of the blacktop that it was warming up and melting away the remaining mess.
I thought there must be a lesson in here somewhere, but I couldn’t quite put my finger on it.
Since I can’t do anything without music playing, at that same moment Leonard Cohen sung in my ear:

Forget your perfect offering

..There is a crack in everything
That’s how the light gets in.


I think that’s the answer.

So in the new decade…whatever your political, spiritual, and social beliefs are, remember to leave a crack in your faith; that’s how the light gets in.
This entry was posted in Philology, Politics, Religion and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Shoveling the Driveway – An Object Lesson

  1. gwalter says:

    It too me a few snowfalls in Colorado to learn this lesson too. And yet, I also learned that if I didn’t get out and removed the big clumps right away, the sun would melt them down and then when it got cold, it turned to ice. Or, if someone came over, we took the car out, or if someone walked on the driveway or sidewalk, it was harder to remove. So, yes, get the big stuff gone, but leave the rest for the sun to take care of – it helps to have a South facing house too!

    Good lesson learned too. I like that. The cracks let the light in!

    I just watched Nicholas Cage in 9/11, and the cracks there allude to this analogy too!

Leave a Reply

