“Kick Ass” is likely the worst movie of the season I have to see!

My wife was more than just a little offended by the Kick-Ass “Hit Girl” Trailer , and I can understand that this is going to offend a lot of people.  For that reason, my wife thought it was appropriate to defend my choice of why I think I’m going to like this movie so much.

To put it simply: We’re like a country of cats.  Take the Joe Biden fiasco a couple of weeks back.

“For a minute, let’s as a nation take a critical look at the change in health care in this country.  Although many people in this country will…hey, something shiny…hey, everybody look at that. It’s something shiny!  Look at that!”

Collectively as a country we stopped talking about health care because an adult used adult language.  Was it appropriate for him to do so at that juncture?  Probably not, but can we get on with it?

Here’s an example from a fifth-grade class I was teaching how adults should behave.  They were performing plays that they wrote themselves based on Greek myths.  One group went all out with elaborate togas as costumes and several costume changes per actor.  At one point Actor A was trying to change while Actor B was still holding onto his toga causing it to wrap tightly around his neck.  Actor A’s response:

“What the fuck, man?  I gotta change this!”

The class falls silent.  He had indeed dropped the F-Bomb and everyone was waiting to see what was going to happen.  Would the teachers freak out?  Would the kids?  What about the actors?  Actor A looked at the audience and said:

“Sorry.  That wasn’t appropriate.  Let’s just keep going.”

No one mentioned the event ever since.  The students moved on, the teachers saw no need to address the issues, and we as teaching-artists agreed that he handled the mistake professionally.  This group of ten-year olds and theur teachers realized that there were more important issues to address in this fifth grade classroom than the word fuck.  If that’s the case in a fifth-grade classroom, wouldn’t you think that there might be something more important in Washington that the word fuck?  Oh, right…maybe health care?

So, yeah, we’ve got a 12-year old girl saying “cunt”.

Appropriate?  I’m not sure.  I haven’t seen the movie to judge it’s context, but I’m more concerned about what the effect is going to be out of context for this 12-year old actress.  Maybe if she gets used to saying cunt it will cease to have power over her…then when she grows up and starts having to have an informed political opinion about the world, she won’t be nearly as easily distracted when another 4-letter word pops up in the news.  Honestly, I think that we should teach our children to have power over words rather than letting words have power over them.

This entry was posted in Politics and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “Kick Ass” is likely the worst movie of the season I have to see!

  1. Michael says:

    The comic is really good.

    I know that’s not pertinent to your post, but I’m just saying.

  2. Jason Tyne says:

    No, it is pertinent…I’d love to read the comic before I see the movie, but I still have The Watchmen sitting on my shelf…unread…preventing me from seeing the movie! 🙂

Leave a Reply

