Paradigm Shift of the Day: What is this all about?

So, I broke down and started tweeting.  The only reason I resisted, because I wasn’t sure anyone was interested in the minutia of my thoughts.  I mean, posting once a week is one thing…posting several times a day is something else!
Then I thought of “Paradigm Shift Quotidian”.
It’s an experiment I started in my life where every day I challenge one belief that I hold to be true.

Here’s the reasoning behind it:

A while ago I decided that the most intelligent people in the world were ones that had incredible breakthroughs in science, religion, and politics because they doubted their own beliefs.  Through simple doubts, they were able to make quantum leaps in their understanding of the world…and beyond!

The first version of the experiment (called “The Descartes Experiment”) required me to wake up one morning and doubt everything that I believe all at once.  I was paralyzed.  I couldn’t leave my bed, because I didn’t believe I had a bed.  Besides what lay in wait for me outside my bed if it did exist?  Certainly not the world I expected because I doubted that it was actually out there.  Maybe nothing was, but I doubted it.  I wanted to cry, but doubted that it was possible because I suddenly didn’t believe that I had eyes.

Obviously this was a failure.

Doubt might make you more intelligent, but infinite doubt will not make you infinitely intelligent.  There must be a curve out there somewhere that would describe exactly how much doubt would provide for maximum intelligence before it starts breaking down your ability to function.

That’s when I came across this quote:

“The test of a first-rate intelligence, is the ability to hold two opposing ideas in mind at the same time and still retain the ability to function.” -F. Scott Fitzgerald

(Okay, actually the quote I came across was from Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy: “Intelligence is the ability to reconcile totally contradictory situations without going completely bonkers — for example, having a stomach ache and not having a stomach ache at the same time, holding a hole without the doughnut, having good luck and bad luck simultaneously, or seeing a real estate agent waive his fee.”)

Therein lies the solution.  To be truly intelligent, you need to have absolute faith in something and the ability to doubt it simultaneously.

…and thus begins my journey with Paradigm Shift of the day #1

Real estate brokers are not the problem of NYC real estate. Everything about NYC is more difficult, and brokers provide a service to help.

If you want to follow my daily paradigm shift, feel free to follow my twitter:

I am wrong about…

This entry was posted in Philosophy and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

