An Open Letter of Support for Mr. McCance and his Christian Values

Dear Mr. McCance,

First of all thank you for being brave enough to call fags out when most Christians choose to turn a blind eye on the problem.  I was wondering if I could ask your advice on that subject.  I have to admit that I’m a lapsed Catholic and my Bible study is not nearly as strong as yours.  I was talking to some fags at my work about how, like you, I would also disown my kids if they were gay. 

I even quoted you, “They will not be welcome at my home or in my vicinity. I would absolutely run them off. Of course my kids will know better. My kids will have solid christian beliefs.” 

One of the fags I was talking to claimed that disowning your children and robbing them of the love of a father was distinctly unchristian, which I said was untrue.

“Running them out of town is exactly what Jesus would do.  Jesus was all about teaching hate and intolerance.”

They again said this wasn’t true so I went to my bible and tried to find some chapter-and-verses where Jesus turned his back on sinners and taught others to be unkind to others.  Unfortunately (or maybe fortunately!) there are no fags in the New Testament, which made my job harder.  I read all four Gospels and all I could find was Jesus saving a prostitute from being stoned, Jesus befriending tax collectors and Samaritans, and Jesus forgiving criminals who were clearly sinners.  There was that one time that Jesus lost his temper and freaked out at the temple momentarily, but he seemed to quickly recover and return to his kind and gentle ways.  I find this image of this loving and forgiving Jesus very distressing since it distracts from finding the Jesus that turns his back on those that seek his love and denies his love from those that don’t deserve it.

If you could please help me find some examples of Jesus teaching parents to turn against their children and teaching his followers to be shun sinners that would be great, because I’d love to defend your actions from a Christian perspective.

Your friend in Christ,

Jason

This entry was posted in Religion and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

