Superlatives of 2010

Best Book: Abraham Lincoln, Vampire Hunter
I loved this book so much I think it should be mandatory reading in every high school American History class.  I’m already hooked on Vampires, but this book made me fascinated by Lincoln’s life!

Best Song: Ghostbusters (Not Afraid of Ghosts) by Deconbrio and Miss FD
Electronic rock band Deconbrio and gothic synthpop performer Miss FD aren’t waiting around for Ghostbusters III to get out of preproduction; they’ve already written the definitive version for the 21st Century.

Best Album: M.I.A.‘s third album Maya
This album didn’t receive a huge amount of fanfare this year and some wrote it off as a disappointment, but I believe that’s just for lack of a strong single.  As a gestalt, however, it’s a strong, strong album.

Best Video Game: Final Fantasy XIV
I’m still getting through the tutorial, but if the game is anything like the tutorial is…this game is going to be awesome!  It’s already rivaling Bioshock as the most beautiful game on my system, so I’m looking forward to how good the story is!

Best Video: http://beck.cnnbcvideo.com/
You’re not going to believe this, but Glenn Beck Attacks a very Progressive Voter that you might hold near and dear to your heart.  Seriously!  Click the link above, because he is targeting YOU as public enemy number one.

Best TV Show: Doctor Who
Although my favorite Doctor is still Christopher Eccleston, Matt Smith does not disappoint as the eleventh doctor…although I’m still not sure what they will do once we get two more doctors!  I hope he lasts a while!

Best Movie: The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo
I don’t see many movies in the theater, so this is literally the only film of 2010 we saw in the theaters this year, but it was a good one.  I guess out of all the movies that I’ve seen this year more accurately we would nominate…

Best Netflix Movie: Up
Although a year late, the best film that we Netflixed this year.  The “aging” sequence alone is enough to make me cry make this movie the best DVD release of 2010 and retroactively the best movie of 2009.

Best Drink: Scarlett Johansson
You’ll have to hire Joe Spix to bartend your next party if you want to try the ScarJo, but it’s worth it because he’s the only one that knows how to make it!  Until he’s got his mixology website upm contact him here: http://waytojoe.tumblr.com/tagged/Bio

This entry was posted in Art and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

