America has been accused of being addicted to “Blind Faith”. I say that’s not true…

“America’s Addiction to Blind Faith”?  I don’t think so…

Don’t get me wrong, there’s a problem of faith in this country…but I feel that it’s far, far worse than blind faith.

Blind faith would be looking at a bag of M&M’s and saying, “This bag is full of nothing but red M&M’s.”

To which I would say, “Are you sure?”

“Yes, very sure.”

“Why don’t we open up the bag to find out?”

“I have no interest in doing so.”

“Why not?”

“Because I know that there is nothing but red M&M’s in the bag.”

My recent conversations with people that hold unwaveringly to their views no matter what evidence is brought their way is far, far more dangerous.

People who hold these views might say, “This bag is full of nothing but red M&M’s.”

To which I would say, “Are you sure?”

“Yes, very sure.”

“Why don’t we open up the bag to find out?”

“Yes, let’s do it.”

He opens the bag and pours the multi-colored M&M’s on the table.

“Okay, this one’s red.  See?  This one’s red, too!  Didn’t I tell you?  Red, red, and red!  Well, this one doesn’t have an M on it, so it doesn’t really count as an M&M.  I’m just going to throw this one out…and this one…this one, well, it’s hard to make out what letter that is.  This one’s red!  This one…hey, are you hungry?  I’m just going to eat a few of these.  Look at this one!  This one’s got a W on it!  That’s got to go.  These, too.  These all get thrown out.  This one’s red…and this one.  This one…well, this one’s kind of misshapen.  Let’s throw out all the imperfect ones…except that one.  That one’s red…and that one.  See?  All the M&M’s in the bag were red.  What did I tell you?  Not another one in sight!”

“Blind faith” is passive ignorance…it’s just unwilling to go out and question current beliefs, but “Unwavering faith” is active ignorance.  It’s disregarding any and all evidence that doesn’t support what you want to believe.  It’s choosing to be ignorant.

Why would you choose to be ignorant?

This entry was posted in Philosophy and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

