Why Being a Christian Sucks

The great thing about being atheist is that you can live by whatever moral code you choose.  Is stealing and lying wrong?  Most people think so, religious or not, but atheists get to write and rewrite their relative morality moment by moment.

Stealing in general is wrong, but perhaps it’s not so bad to steal from a big company.

Lying in general is bad, but perhaps it’s not so wrong to lie on your taxes.

That’s the great thing about being atheist.  Since you making up your own moral code instead of being given one by a god, no one is going to be mad at you if you make exceptions to your own code or bend the rules a bit.

Being a Christian sucks.

Seriously.

It does.

There’s no gray area when it comes to the morality of Christianity.

Taking something that belongs to someone else is always wrong, regardless of the circumstances.

Telling lies is always bad, regardless of the circumstances.

I’m not one to judge, because ain’t none of us perfect.

I know that lying is wrong, but when I need a personal day to catch up in my personal life…it’s just easier to tell my boss that I’m sick rather than to explain the fact that I need to go to Brooklyn for a special event.  I doubt my boss really cares either what I do with my personal days, so she doesn’t really care what  excuse I use.

…but…I have to recognize that as a Christian, whenever I lie I go against the will of God.

I know that stealing is wrong, but if I’m at the cafeteria and there’s no one there to take my money at the register…it’s really the cafeteria’s fault that I can walk straight through without paying for my meal.

…but…I have to recognize that as a Christian, whenever I take something from another person I go against the will of god.

I also have to recognize that event if I am not sinning directly, I am responsible for the final outcome of my actions.  You can’t get out of the responsibility of your actions, just because you act indirectly or use another person as a tool to commit the sin.

If I ask my coworker to lie to cover for me, that lie belongs to both of us.

If my friend works for a bookstore and I ask him to swipe some reading material for me, that theft belongs to both of us.

Perhaps you think that lying to your boss isn’t “that big a lie” or that stealing from a big box store isn’t “so bad” because you’re stealing from a corporation rather than a person.

If you’re an Atheist, bully for you!  You’ve chosen to live by your own moral code, and…you know…I really can’t fault you for taking advantage of that.

I’m not going to fault a Christian for that either as long as you recognize that you’re acting outside how Jesus instructed you to live your life.  As a Christian you can lie to your boss or steal from a company as long as you’re willing to either say,

“What I’m doing now is a sin.  I know God will disapprove, but right now I feel that certain circumstances are making this act necessary and I hope that God will understand.”

…or…

“What I’m doing now is not a sin.  I know that the teachings of Jesus are contrary to my actions, but he lived 2,000 years ago and really his teachings aren’t that applicable to the current situation.”

If you are a Christian and you are acting contrary to Jesus’ teachings and you cannot say either of the above, you are a hypocrite.

If you lie to your boss and think, “God has truly blessed me for my ability to lie to get out of going to work.” you are a hypocrite.

If you steal from a faceless corporation and think, “God has truly blessed me by making this bounty available to me” you are a hypocrite.

That’s why it sucks to be a Christian.  Atheists can live by a rule of relative morality so they can justify any action they use to take.  As a Christian you’ve always got to measure your actions against the teachings and example of Jesus Christ.

Crap…I didn’t even mention killing.  This is where being a Christian gets really sucky.

Taking the life of another human being is always a sin, regardless of the situation.

I know that killing is a sin, but if I find myself alone with a child molester and a weapon he deserves to be killed, and possibly by killing him other children will be prevented from being molested.

…but…I have to recognize that as a Christian, whenever I kill I go against the will of God.

Maybe he deserves to die, but that’s not a Christian’s call to make.  Only God can make that call.

I also have to recognize that event if I am not sinning directly, I am responsible for the final outcome of my actions.  You can’t get out of the responsibility of your actions, just because you act indirectly or use another person as a tool to commit the sin.

If I support the armed forces and cheer them on as they kill, that killing belongs to both of us.

The killing of Osama bin Laden brought this to mind.  Are you a Christian that cheered when Osama bin Laden was killed in our name?

Did you say “What the armed forces are doing now is a sin.  I know God will disapprove, but right now I feel that certain circumstances are making this act necessary and I hope that God will understand and forgive.”

…or…

“What the armed forces are doing now is not a sin.  I know that the teachings of Jesus are contrary to their actions, but he lived 2,000 years ago and really his teachings really aren’t that applicable to the current situation.”

If instead you said ”

If you lie to your boss and think, “God has truly blessed our country with our ability to kill of Osama bin Laden.” you are a hypocrite.

Sorry to break it to you.

That’s why being a Christian sucks.

Because it’s hard.

It’s really…really hard.

You cannot support the actions of anyone who sins, which means you cannot support the actions of anyone who takes human lives, which means you cannot support the actions of the armed forces.

Again…ain’t none of us perfect.

Perhaps the taking of a human life is the solution to a problem…but it is not the Christian solution.

Kind of makes you wish you were atheists, doesn’t it?

I really want to support the armed forces, but as a Christian I cannot.

If you are a Christian and not willing to say “I know that the teachings of Jesus are contrary to my actions, but he lived 2,000 years ago and really his teachings aren’t that applicable to the current situation.” you cannot either.

I know.

It sucks.

Hopefully it will pay off in the long run, you know?

This entry was posted in Religion and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Why Being a Christian Sucks

  1. Mario says:

    You arrogant asshole. I didn’t become an atheist simply to live by whatever flimsy moral code I wanted. I became an atheist because I found the idea of gods and the fairy tale of salvation extraordinarily silly.

    • Jason Tyne says:

      Why do you suppose that being forced to create your own moral code necessitates being flimsy? I know many atheists with a very strong and admirable moral code. Many of those actually left christianity to craft a stronger moral code than was given to them by their religion, and I admire that.

      …and that makes me an asshole?

Leave a Reply

